Ministerial Council

The Ministerial Council is the supreme authority of the Organization, responsible for drawing up its general policy, directing its activity, and laying down the rules governing it.

The Ministerial Council is composed of the ministers of petroleum of each of the member countries or an official enjoying a comparable degree of responsibility for petroleum affairs. The chairmanship of the Council rotates annually among the representatives in the alphabetical order of their countries.

Its meetings are convened at least twice a year. Extraordinary sessions may be convened at the request of a member country or the Secretary General.

Ministerial Council Members